Gay Matters

February 13, 2011

I watched Gray Matters today. A bit overdramatic and cheesy, but a perfect light coming out movie for those of you still in the closet!

**Spoilers ahead** I love that Gray doesn’t get the first girl she falls for, that she is confused and insecure and harbors that deep crush for someone completely unavailable. Also, I just wish Helena Peabody had introduced me to the world of les sex. Can you imagine, a five-star hotel, a bottle of cognac, and a hot older British woman?

Anyway, a lot of us spend our lesbian adolescence unsure of ourselves, worrying about how to come out to our parents and obsessing over how to meet women. There are a few cities in the world in which meeting other gay girls is easy. In many other places it’s not. At 17, I convinced a couple of straight guy friends to drive 40 minutes so I could go to the nearest gay bar. It was an emo/goth night. I looked like your standard preppy lipstick. Needless to say, I went home alone. On the other hand, one of my guy friends discovered he had a new fetish during that evening!

I will leave you with this quote from Gray Matters:

Gray: “I’m just coming out…”

Julia: “I don’t think anyone here will mind.”

2 Responses to “Gay Matters”

  1. Anonymous said

    Agreed. How could anyone refuse once mesmerized by that accent and that gaze??

  2. […] out there just like me. Great! We see ourselves in Imagine Me and You and in Bloomington and in Gray Matters. We can choose who to tell about our orientation. No one will kick us out of a women’s […]

Leave a Reply

