Why I Write

February 23, 2011

My blog is not breathtakingly original, wonderfully poignant, or widely inspirational.

It does not have a particularly large readership or following. But I continue telling my silly stories, writing on strange subjects, and answering your questions.

The reason for this is that I believe gay people, especially les women, still need more visibility.

I remember how desperately I searched for lesbian blogs when I was just coming out. I wanted something real, something I could associate with or think about. I wanted to see a glimpse into a life outside the closet. After I came out, I still looked for lesbian content – sometimes to compare myself, sometimes to get a reality check, and generally to make sure I wasn’t the only crazie out there. I found some amazing tales that validated my experiences and gave me hope for the future.

I’m telling my story now that I have something to tell. Neither my life nor my thoughts are exceptional, but they are the life and the thoughts of a gay woman. If they make you smile, make you reflect, if they get you through a difficult morning or even a boring class, I consider my mission accomplished.

Thanks.

9 Responses to “Why I Write”

  1. xavi said

    Merci à toi ..

    mission accomplished !

  2. mcdoa said

    thank YOU! 🙂

  3. 🙂 you guys are awesome.

  4. Anonymous said

    Yes, thanks for sharing! Much appreciated 🙂

  5. Anonymous said

    🙂

  6. Anonymous said

    I’m the girl looking for lesbian blogs and wanting something to relate to. So, thank you for writing such a wonderful blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

